Love Your Kids Enough To Say ‘NO’

Posted: February 17, 2009 in Life
Tags: , , ,

Dad at 13

In the light of recent event – a 13-year-old boy fathered a child with his 15-year-old girlfriend- it has come to my pondering; what has come to kids today and have parents failed?

No offence but I must say, we need parents who are willing to say to their children, ‘I love you so much that I am willing to say ‘no’ to you’. And this is one case where a big ‘NO’ should have come before the damage occurred. We must teach them what sex is all about but to no avail and I’m sorry to say that parents today come shy to even talk about ‘the flower and the bees’ subject. And where do the children learn it from? other means by which from the mass media and even from their friends.

Kids can’t do what they like and when do parents must come in to guide? do we have such parents who can do that?

Many parents often accede to what children want. Sometimes you have to take a firm stand to say ‘NO!’. Is the British report a clear case of social breakdown? if it can happen there, it can happen ANYWHERE. Here are some guidelines that maybe can be implemented to keep this kind of thing at bay:

  • Be consistent. If you don’t, you will confuse your children.
  • Don’t make promises you can’t keep.
  • Don’t make you children feel smaller than they are.
  • Don’t correct your children in front of others. Talk to them in private.
  • Stop preaching to your children.
  • Don’t be put off when your children ask honest qustions.
  • Treat your children as individuals, not things.
  • Don’t think it is beneath your dignity to apologise to your children when you are wrong.
  • And don’t ever suggest that you are perfect or infallible.

Teach them the ways God and to respect authority. Be consistent, decisive abd respectful of your children as individuals. Hold your children accountable for their actions and help them learn from experience. But when you teach, do that with love and concern. Balance responsibility with forgiveness and love.

Comments
  1. Kim says:

    I agree with you. I high time parents took active part in teenagers life.

  2. Mike says:

    Just passing by.Btw, you website have great content!

  3. turnxaround says:

    Can you add me on your blogroll!!

  4. Ingrid says:

    The story is kinda disturbing, but I’m personally glad that they had the baby, because things may still work out for the best, even though its hard to understand at first!

  5. Ashley says:

    wow I think parents should keep a better watch on their kids but i guess this kid was not really the parent but we still face problems with teens having sex at the ages of 12 through 16. Us as parents need to step up and do our job! :~0

  6. nena says:

    is that dude really 13 years old cuz he looks like a 9 year old kid and seriuosly who will have sex with him

  7. kay says:

    im only 11 but seeing this happen to young kids scares me. My mom say if i tell the truth im never in trouble. She also said no matter what she will always love me. My friend over the summer was 12 and hes not a virgin anymore that is. I told my mom that and she said the parents are shy to tell the kid anything. Now everytime we talk i feel like OMG im talking to a kid my age that had sex. It really is going to the limit where everyone will be a parent to 15-20 kids. My mom said “your body was gift from god so was mine. I gave it to your father only so that i could creat a gift of my own. You. And now you will know when to give yours to creat your own gift. But wait til your at least out of college and have a career.” I love my mother for telling me this. Right now im dating a kid whos aunt is my moms best friend. he is my third bf. he is special to me when i told her this she said. thats great just remember your a gift. Parents should be like this. let your kids ask you anything answer them like my mom. she says shed rather me ask her about sex then learn in school from kids. Cause then they make a big deal if you had sex yet thats when you think its not bad. the other the 12 year old ask me if i had sex. i said no. he said i should try it with my bf. i wont. im waiting for the perfect guy. and when i can support myself. plus while im in school my mom would have to take care of the baby. even if she was ok with me being pregent now (witch she isnt) she had her 3 kids she dosent need to take care of another. i hope parents now know wht a kid that parents are open to feel about sex. use anything from here that you need too.

  8. Abby says:

    This is not a big deal apparantly all of u are blind with your sorroundings I’m 13 and I know a gazzilion pol who aren’t virgins I even know a boy who lost his virginity wen he was 8 u need to realize little kids already know way sex is the best thing to do is to talk to them about the concequences u think that boy right there looks happy?….. Exactly

Leave a Reply

